Noojimo'iwewin

August 7, 2020 - Day 3

Agenda at glance by time zone

start time

Plenary Session 3
Working with Individuals and Families with Substance Abuse Concerns, Tips for the Non-Mental Health Professionals

Ashley K. Harding, Yellowhawk Tribal Health Center

Hon. Josh Hudson, Bay Mills Indian Community Healing to Wellness Court

1.25 CLE; 1.25 SWCE

Learn approaches and tools to provide supportive home-based or outreach services with individuals and families who are struggling with substance abuse. Trauma can impact establishing trusting and intentional connections to empower families forward in healing.

Click names to learn more.

7:00am AK

8:00am PT

9:00am MT

10:00am CT

11:00am ET

Break                                                     8:15am AK - 9:15am PT - 10:15am MT - 11:15am CT - 12:15pm ET

Breakout Session 3

 

Social Services: Child Welfare and DV in Tribal Courts After COVID-19

Sheldon Spotted Elk, Casey Family Programs & Tribal Justice Support

Hon. Eric M. Mehnert, Penobscot Nation Tribal Court

1 CLE (Elimination of Bias); 1 SWCE

COVID-19 has drastically changed the way we conduct business as usual. Like governments around the world, tribal courts have responded to the pandemic by social distancing, adapting protocols and procedures, and issuing emergency declarations. Abuse and violence does not stop happening just because practitioners stop going into work. In fact, studies show that domestic violence rates have increased during “stay at home” orders. This session will discuss these cases as COVID-19 orders are lifted and unpack in the importance of balancing the rights of children with their best interests in mind.

Law Enforcement: Balancing Victim's Rights and Children's Needs in DV Cases

Rachel Carr, Uniting Three Fires Against Violence

Neoshia Roemer, Michigan State University College of Law

1 CLE (Elimination of Bias)

In domestic violence situations, ensuring the safety of the child with visitation needs requires delicate balancing of children’s needs (or best interests) and parent rights (both victim and aggressor) and how this particularly effects peoples and children of color. The Indian Child Welfare Act, a critical tool of protection from bias in child welfare cases involving Native children, continues to apply even in cases where domestic violence is present.

8:45am AK

9:45am PT

10:45pm MT

11:45pm CT

12:45pm ET

Break                                                     9:45am AK - 10:45am PT - 11:45am MT - 12:45pm CT - 1:45pm ET

Plenary Session 4 Healing Families from Intergenerational Trauma

Sandy White Hawk, First Nations Repatriation Institute

Ann Haines Holy Eagle, Indian Advocate, Indian Child Welfare Law Center 

1.5 CLE; 1.5 SWCE

Between an overrepresentation in the foster care system and the aftermath of the Boarding School Era, for decades Native American children have experienced trauma from their forced removal. In response, the Indian Child Welfare Act is federal legislation created to keep Native families together. Generations of removal have had a traumatic toll on tribal communities. Understanding healing requires a critical look at the genocidal tool of child removal. The presenters speak from first-hand accounts of trauma and how this has affected their family lineage.

10:00am AK

11:00am PT

12:00pm MT

1:00pm CT

2:00pm ET

Break                                                      11:30am AK - 12:30pm PT - 1:30pm MT - 2:30pm CT - 3:30pm ET

Reflections & Community Healing III:
Trauma and COVID-19

Sheldon Spotted Elk, Casey Family Programs & Tribal Justice Support

11:35am AK

12:35pm PT

1:35pm MT

2:35pm CT

3:35pm ET

Conference Ends                                     12:00pm AK - 1:00pm PT - 2:00pm MT - 3:00pm CT - 4:00pm ET

Miigwetch!