AUGUST 5-7, 2020

2nd Annual
Noojimo’iwewin: 

The Virtual
VAWA and ICWA Training

Brought to you by Bay Mills Indian Community & OJS Tribal Justice Support

Noojimo’iwewin - healing others, healing the mind and body as well as illness

A multi-disciplinary training for advocates to implement effective service and advocacy strategies in cases involving child welfare, domestic violence, or both.

Agenda at glance by time zone

Wednesday - August 5, 2020

Approved by the Minnesota Board of Continuing Legal Education for 11 CLE credits (10 Standard and 1 Elimination of Bias).

Pending approval by the Michigan Social Work Continuing Education Collaborative for 11 credits.

start time

Welcome
Opening Song and Prayer Song
Daraka McLeod-Dettloff and Tyler Dettloff

7:00am AK

8:00am PT

9:00am MT

10:00am CT

11:00am ET

Breakout Session 1

Social Services: Child Welfare and Substance Abuse
Kate Fort, Michigan State University College of Law

Ashley K. Harding, Yellowhawk Tribal Health Center

9:00am AK

10:00am PT

11:00am MT

12:00pm CT

1:00pm ET

Law Enforcement: Balancing Defendant's Rights and Victim's Rights

Addie Smith, Tobin Smith Consulting

Hon. Ron Whitener, Retired Chief Judge, The Tulalip Tribes & The Whitener Group

Break 

8:30am AK - 9:30am PT - 10:30am MT - 11:30am CT - 12:30pm ET

Break                                                   

10:00am AK 11:00am PT -  12:00pm MT -  1:00pm CT -  2:00pm ET

Plenary 1
Tribal-State Consortium: Government to Government Relationships in DV and Child Welfare

Justice Megan K. Cavanagh, Michigan Supreme Court

Hon. Allie Greenleaf Maldonado, Little Traverse Bay Bands of Odawa Indians Tribal Court

Hon. Jocelyn Fabry, Sault Ste. Marie Tribe of Chippewa Indians Tribal Court

10:05am AK

11:05am PT

12:05pm MT

1:05pm CT

2:05pm ET

Keynote 1
Setting the Stage

Judge Leah Parish, Bay Mills Indian Community Tribal Court

7:30am AK

8:30am PT

9:30am MT

10:30am CT

11:30am ET

Click names to learn more.

Break

11:30pm AK - 12:30pm PT - 1:30pm MT - 2:30pm CT 3:30pm ET

Reflections & Community Healing:
Generational and Systemic Trauma
Hon. Jocelyn Fabry, Sault Ste. Marie Tribe of Chippewa Indians

11:35am AK

12:35pm PT

1:35pm MT

2:35pm CT

3:35pm ET

Day Ends 

12:00pm AK 1:00pm PT - 2:00pm MT - 3:00pm CT - 4:00pm ET

Thursday - August 6, 2020

Keynote 2
A Silent Epidemic: Sexual Violence Against Men and Boys

 

Lenny HayesTate Topa Consulting LLC

7:00am AK

8:00am PT

9:00am MT

10:00am CT

11:00am ET

Plenary Session 2

Restorative and Racial Justice in Tribal Communities 

Kevin Maillard, Syracuse University

8:45am AK

9:45am PT

10:45pm MT

11:45pm CT

12:45pm ET

Break                                                     8:15am AK - 9:15am PT - 10:15am MT - 11:15am CT - 12:15pm ET

Breakout Session 2

 

Social Services: Adverse Childhood Experiences

Dr. Megan Gunnar, University of Minnesota

Law Enforcement: Identifying Human Trafficking in Tribal Communities

Victoria Sweet, The NoVo Foundation

Hon. Kelly Stoner, Tribal Law and Policy Institute

10:00am AK

11:00am PT

12:00pm MT

1:00pm CT

2:00pm ET

Break                                                     9:45am AK - 10:45am PT - 11:45am MT - 12:45pm CT - 1:45pm ET

Break                                                     11:30am AK - 12:30pm PT - 1:30pm MT - 2:30pm CT -  3:30pm ET

Reflections & Community Healing II:
Vicarious Trauma and Self-Care
Lenny Hayes, Tate Topa Consulting

11:35am AK

12:35pm PT

1:35pm MT

2:35pm CT

3:35pm ET

Day Ends                                                 12:00pm AK - 1:00pm PT - 2:00pm MT - 3:00pm CT - 4:00pm ET

Friday - August 7, 2020

Miigwetch!

Reflections & Community Healing III:
Trauma and COVID-19

Sheldon Spotted Elk, Casey Family Programs & Tribal Justice Support

11:35am AK

12:35pm PT

1:35pm MT

2:35pm CT

3:35pm ET

Break                                                      11:30am AK - 12:30pm PT - 1:30pm MT - 2:30pm CT - 3:30pm ET

Break                                                     9:45am AK - 10:45am PT - 11:45am MT - 12:45pm CT - 1:45pm ET

Breakout Session 3

 

Social Services: Child Welfare and DV in Tribal Courts After COVID-19

Sheldon Spotted Elk, Casey Family Programs & Tribal Justice Support

Hon. Eric M. Mehnert, Penobscot Nation Tribal Court

Law Enforcement: Balancing Victim's Rights and Children's Needs in DV Cases

Rachel Carr, Uniting Three Fires Against Violence

Neoshia Roemer, Michigan State University College of Law

8:45am AK

9:45am PT

10:45pm MT

11:45pm CT

12:45pm ET

Break                                                     8:15am AK - 9:15am PT - 10:15am MT - 11:15am CT - 12:15pm ET

Plenary Session 4 Healing Families from Intergenerational Trauma

Sandy White Hawk, First Nations Repatriation Institute

Ann Haines Holy Eagle, Indian Advocate, Indian Child Welfare Law Center 

10:00am AK

11:00am PT

12:00pm MT

1:00pm CT

2:00pm ET

Plenary Session 3
Working with Individuals and Families with Substance Abuse Concerns, Tips for the Non-Mental Health Professionals

Ashley K. Harding, Yellowhawk Tribal Health Center

Hon. Josh Hudson, Bay Mills Indian Community Healing to Wellness Court

7:00am AK

8:00am PT

9:00am MT

10:00am CT

11:00am ET

Conference Ends                                     12:00pm AK - 1:00pm PT - 2:00pm MT - 3:00pm CT - 4:00pm ET

Conference Assistance