Noojimo'iwewin

August 6, 2020 - Day 2

Agenda at glance by time zone

start time

Keynote 2
A Silent Epidemic: Sexual Violence Against Men and Boys

Lenny HayesTate Topa Consulting

1.25 CLE; 1.25 SWCE

Often men are the neglected victim of all forms of sexual violence.  It is frightening to realize how widespread sexual abuse and violence is in our society and yet how strong the denial of it is.  Post-traumatic recovery, healing and healthy relationships are possible.

Reminder: This presentation will include information reflective of individual experiences including some topics that participants may identify with personally or find challenging to discuss. We encourage all participants to take care of themselves and their needs--as always feel free to take breaks or leave at any point in time.

Click names to learn more.

7:00am AK

8:00am PT

9:00am MT

10:00am CT

11:00am ET

Break                                                     8:15am AK - 9:15am PT - 10:15am MT - 11:15am CT - 12:15pm ET

Plenary Session 2

Restorative and Racial Justice in Tribal Communities 

Kevin Maillard, Syracuse University

1 CLE; 1 SWCE

The Black Lives Matter movement has brought difficult topics to the surface, encouraging dialogue that has long been silenced or overlooked. Indigenous communities are particularly situated to reevaluate their roles in combating institutionalized racism. This timely discussion will emphasize implicit bias in police interventions and anti-black racism in tribal communities. Kevin Maillard focuses on family law, civil liberties, and popular culture.

8:45am AK

9:45am PT

10:45pm MT

11:45pm CT

12:45pm ET

Break                                                     9:45am AK - 10:45am PT - 11:45am MT - 12:45pm CT - 1:45pm ET

Breakout Session 2

 

Social Services: Adverse Childhood Experiences

Dr. Megan Gunnar, University of Minnesota

1.5 CLE; 1.5 SWCE

Formative years of development carry us into adulthood. The Gunnar Laboratory for Developmental Psychobiology Research studies how children and adolescents regulate stress and emotions. Psychosocial stress conditions shape stress reactivity and regulation in both youth with a history of deprived care (adopted children) and children reared in their families of origin.

Law Enforcement: Identifying Human Trafficking in Tribal Communities

Victoria Sweet, The NoVo Foundation

Hon. Kelly Stoner, Tribal Law and Policy Institute

1.5 CLE

The crime of human trafficking is a multifaceted and complex crime that can be difficult to identify. It often appears as something else such as domestic violence, neglect, truancy, or drug possession. Without proper identification, the system fails victims as their true needs are never met. How can you tell if you might be dealing with human trafficking?

 

Tribal governments have the power to police their communities in a way to prevent human trafficking and punish those involved in such activities. Accordingly, this presenter will discuss particular code provisions tribal governments may enact to prevent human trafficking within their communities, as well as tips for law enforcement to prevent trafficking.

  •  

10:00am AK

11:00am PT

12:00pm MT

1:00pm CT

2:00pm ET

Break                                                     11:30am AK - 12:30pm PT - 1:30pm MT - 2:30pm CT -  3:30pm ET

Reflections & Community Healing II:
Vicarious Trauma and Self-Care
Lenny Hayes, Tate Topa Consulting
Coming together to heal our communities, we hope you join us to reflect on today's discussions.

11:35am AK

12:35pm PT

1:35pm MT

2:35pm CT

3:35pm ET

Day Ends                                                 12:00pm AK - 1:00pm PT - 2:00pm MT - 3:00pm CT - 4:00pm ET