Noojimo'iwewin

August 5, 2020 - Day 1

Agenda at glance by time zone

start time

Welcome
Opening Song and Prayer Song
Daraka McLeod-Dettloff and Tyler Dettloff

7:00am AK

8:00am PT

9:00am MT

10:00am CT

11:00am ET

Keynote 1
Setting the Stage

Judge Leah Parish, Bay Mills Indian Community Tribal Court

1 CLE; 1 SWCE

Where is Bay Mills now? Where do we want to be? The Bay Mills Indian Community embarks on the second annual training for advocates who prioritize the health, safety, and well-being of our communities. With the Bay Mills community at the heart, this keynote will discuss the lessons learned, challenges, and trajectory of domestic violence and child welfare related prevention, intervention and responses. Visions for future wellness initiatives will guide this session as well as the sessions proceeding.

Click names to learn more.

7:30am AK

8:30am PT

9:30am MT

10:30am CT

11:30am ET

Break                                                     8:30am AK - 9:30am PT - 10:30am MT - 11:30am CT - 12:30pm ET

Breakout Session 1

Social Services: Child Welfare and Substance Abuse
Kate Fort, Michigan State University College of Law

Ashley K. Harding, Yellowhawk Tribal Health Center

1 CLE; 1 SWCE

Substance use disorders impact child welfare cases. Strength-based and culturally responsive approaches in case planning and treatment plans promote healing and resiliency for individuals, families and children. 

9:00am AK

10:00am PT

11:00am MT

12:00pm CT

1:00pm ET

Law Enforcement: Balancing Defendant's Rights and Victim's Rights

Addie Smith, Tobin Smith Consulting

Hon. Ron Whitener, Retired Chief Judge, The Tulalip Tribes & The Whitener Group

1 CLE

With an intentional emphasis on children’s rights, get familiar with the challenges and best-practices related to the rights of victims and defendants in tribal, state, and federal judicial systems.

Break                                                   10:00am AK 11:00am PT -  12:00pm MT -  1:00pm CT -  2:00pm ET
Plenary 1
Tribal-State Consortium: Government to Government Relationships in DV and Child Welfare

Justice Megan K. Cavanagh, Michigan Supreme Court

Hon. Allie Greenleaf Maldonado, Little Traverse Bay Bands of Odawa Indians Tribal Court

Hon. Jocelyn Fabry, Sault Ste. Marie Tribe of Chippewa Indians Tribal Court

1 CLE; 1 SWCE

Strategic partnerships across systems and communities provide an essential and accelerated response toward healing our communities. Ultimately, these relationships uphold tribal sovereignty.

10:05am AK

11:05am PT

12:05pm MT

1:05pm CT

2:05pm ET

Break                                                     11:30pm AK - 12:30pm PT - 1:30pm MT - 2:30pm CT 3:30pm ET
Reflections & Community Healing:
Generational and Systemic Trauma
Hon. Jocelyn Fabry, Sault Ste. Marie Tribe of Chippewa Indians
Coming together to heal our communities, we hope you join us to reflect on today's discussions.

11:35am AK

12:35pm PT

1:35pm MT

2:35pm CT

3:35pm ET

Day Ends                                                 12:00pm AK 1:00pm PT - 2:00pm MT - 3:00pm CT - 4:00pm ET

© 2019 The Whitener Group   For Questions /  Contact us at trainings@whitenergroup.biz